Day One: Engage and Communicate

Engage & Communicate:

One of the fundamental aspects of developing good mental health and well being is ensuring that no matter how crazy or busy your life may be ensure that you engage and communicate with your friends and family. This will ensure you have access at all times to advice, listening ears and to share experiences. During the course of this engagement you will hopefully feel and become more relaxed, content and know that you’re mentally capable and prepared of dealing with any issues that you may face in the future. This is key to developing coping mechanism to life, its vital in fact.

 Below are the two great but simple steps to ensure that communication is the key to great mental health and self-wellness. The one big tip to take from all this is always take the first step no matter how long it’s been, if you feel you need to talk, don’t be surprised that someone is always there to help. That’s how great real friends and more importantly humans are. It’s in our nature.

Engage:

Pick up that phone, go see that friend, go out and engage! The first crucial step to effective communication and ensuring you stay connected to your friends and family is actively engaging with people. This to some is the a daunting prospect and to be honest I can understand the issues surrounding it, but you must get out of that comfort zone you may be in. Your house, your room or work may be a safe haven but really for how long? Make sure that no matter where you are you engage with your friends or work colleagues or teammates and talk to them, work with them and communicate with them. Join in the conversation, engage!

Breaking out of that comfort zone can be hard but it’s sometimes necessary. If there is a planned night out and you feel that maybe you’re not that up for it, chances are you really are but just don’t feel confident about it. It’s those nights, days out or events that you need to take advantage of and get out and engage with people. This is something, which I have been trying to do more personally over these past few months. The shared experiences I have now as a result have been very beneficial to me and my well-being.

I despise New Years Eve and I always did, think the whole concept is a bit of sham in my mind. However, for the first time in many years I went out with my friends to celebrate the arrival of 2016 and to be honest? I simply don’t regret that engagement one bit. I met friends that night I hadn’t seen in years and even made new ones.

This is the whole process and concept of engaging. It’s taking the chance when you feel its not there for you to take. The truth is, it’s always there to be taken.

“Crouch, touch, pause…ENGAGE”

 Communicate:

While the mobile phone is a great source of information and I believe a key aspect to communication in today’s modern society for so many good reasons. However when I say it’s key it is not to be the only aspect we should use to communicate with our friends, family and outside world.

I believe and always will that a text message, even those that were meant to do good, express feelings and emotions with the words it contained can be interpreted in so many ways and angles both good and bad. With that in mind my advice has always been this, if there is something you need to get off your chest or if you need to talk about something in your life that might turn into a bigger issue in the long run.

Never text it. Talk instead. Always talk, take my advice its great.

A phone call or to arrange a meet up with someone to talk is more beneficial to you in the long run. The short term gain from having a rant in a text message is all well and good but these ill feelings and issues will remain, written and in solid form.

I firmly believe the best part to self well being and communication is talking. No matter how big the issue or how small you think the topic is, talking it out always serves a better tonic. There are so many people out there to talk to but I always feel that family and close friends are the best and solid foundations to good start your communication. They know you best, you likes, dislikes but also the way you think so in truth, they probably know you better than you think so they will always point you in the right direction for you.

My second point to communication is this and I have been a victim and guilty of this habit. Don’t hold it in for too long, it only manifests and will harm you in the long run. There have been times my friends and family have suffered the wrath of Mount Vesuvius upon occasion but that was only because I could not handle allowing people knowing there was an issue.

Now I talk more and I am not afraid to do so. I express more and allow people to see it. Its ok to do so and to communicate is the key to this. If you don’t communicate carefully and regularly the result is Pompeii and not Rome.

 We want you to be the beautiful eternal city and not the shell of a once great one.

 That’s it for today, 100 days of getting there has gotten off to an important start. Engage and communicate it’s the key to a better self-wellness and mental health.

 

But for now, Take care!

Mr C.

Leave a comment